Arachne

By Arachne

Legs, walking

Since January I have been doing the 2012challenge. Each week I keep the pre-set word in mind and I see whether and how I can express it in a photo. It makes me seek out things that I wouldn't otherwise think about and see ordinary things in a new way. Coming up against the boundaries of the challenge is what I find most interesting. Does this fit? How can I make it fit? What happens if I re-interpret the rule? Or break it? What else might fit?

This week's word is 'transportation'. Travelling to and from the Paralympics I've had more opportunities than usual to take relevant pictures. I've seen planes, helicopters, the cable car over the Thames and many different boats. I've seen many examples of the wheels we share: overground trains, underground trains, the light railway, buses and coaches, and the wheels we don't: bikes, as always, and far more wheelchairs than I'm used to.

It took me a week to register that the commonest form of transportation, worldwide, is one that most of us (though not all Paralympics athletes) completely take for granted. Finally motivated, I raced out to find interesting and varied examples of legs walking. And I discovered that 87 per cent* of the population have blue legs, that people who are together tend to walk in step, that far more women than you would think wear ankle length skirts and that 39 per cent* of the population cover their legs with shopping bags.

146** pictures later I haven't achieved what I wanted, but you get the idea.

*some statistics were harmed in the making of this blip
**but not all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.