By Himself

By Himself

This a place on the Sheep's Head Way that I find particularly memorable for some reason I can't quite put my finger on. Perhaps it is a memory of the first time I went up this slope feeling a little apprehensive because it actually goes through someone's gate and then arrives at a farmyard and I was not sure if I should have been there at all. 
Today it was looking beautifully lush in the bright sunshine and I met the farmer himself, off to check on his sheep but not too busy to miss the exchange of information that just has to be done.
I walked from home along the old green road to Farranamanagh, along the stony strand to the quay and up through Paddock into the village of Kilcrohane and then back - about 3 hours.
PS - look at the map if you can, there are some wonderful townland names here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.