Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Happy as a pig in muck.....

Jamie was up before 9am this morning to help do the food shopping with mum and he did so voluntarily! There was however an incentive. We were going to collect the remaining bits for his new self build pc!

Having returned home it was all focus on building the motherboard and cpu, 8GByte RAM, to a point to POST (I didn't know what that was) and then build it in the case with all disks, psu and a super fast graphics card. It run up first time (am amazed) OS loaded, drivers loaded (he had the foresight to download them to a USB), configured defaults for running an SSD and then a speed test.... It boots and starts windows on power up in 19 Seconds!!!

I think he's pleased. I suspect it's cost me a new DVI monitor though. We had to swap the graphics adapter and didn't realise the new one didn't have a VGA port and I don't have a DVI/VGA adapter so he has nicked my DVI screen! I suspect two more screens will soon follow.

I have to say its also pleasingly quiet compared to the pc in his bedroom that sounds like a jet spooling engines for takeoff.

I might just have to do this myself...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.