Musings

By Mumma

Ana's cake

Ana made this cake and sent it back for my boy with my daughter when she popped round to his for the evening.

What do I know about Ana?

She is living with my ex husband.

I suggested to my ex that we all meet, before they moved in, to make things easier all round, for a coffee, at his, or mine, or out if that was easier. He agreed, but said the time wasn't right just then, and he would let me know when it was. He never got back in contact, and reminding him seemed a bit wrong.

First time I went to their house to collect my boy, when she eventually opened the door, she hid behind it chatting on the phone. I was ready to say hello, but saw one eye and some hair, very briefly, and I became mute.

Second time I went to the house my boy asked her to let me in, but she asked him to fetch something for her, and I waited, and waited outside until my boy came out. Whilst waiting my ex arrived, said hello, and let himself in the house shutting the door behind him. It was very awkward, and my boy did not know what to make of it.

And now the cake. Which was left uneaten in my fridge. I must throw it in the bin, and feel, oddly, guilty about it, as if it is something I should not touch - but my boy is not here, he is spending the next week with his Dad. I don't know how old the cake was, but it won't be nice after a week.

I can think of more unpleasant ways to meet your ex's new partner, than to meet them in tiny increments, and of course I am glad that she seems to have a good relationship with the kids, but the way she has been to me seems very peculiar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.