Not the solution?

Although I suppose, technically a glass of fizz is a solution? Its not been a good week, mainly for reasons I can't discuss here. However I can tell you about 1 contributory element (entertaining in a black humour sort of way). My mum (94 and increasingly confused) has a panic alarm and smoke alarms which are linked to the Age Concern Call Centre (or similar). Lunchtime Thursday I am at work and the Call Centre calls me to tell me that mum's smoke alarm has gone off. They have rung her but got no sense so have sent the fire brigade. They have tried to call her back but she hasn't put the phone down so it just rings engaged. They ring a bit later to say that the firemen have sort her out. No fire but she burnt her lunch. Bit of a mystery that, as she has Meals on Wheels (fab service) which delivers her a hot lunch. Whatever. En route home I call in. The smoke alarm is ringing at full pelt (she doesn't hear it) and there is a dreadful smell of burning. I investigate but find nothing. I ask her about the firemen visiting. She tells me she has no idea why they turned up! Friday morning I manage to get through to Leatherhead's' Bravest (bit of a struggle that) and speak to Watch Commander Lewis of Green Watch, who by happy coincidence are the same crew that visited Mum. They tell me that she had boiled some eggs dry and had then added some water to the saucepan to cool it down. Who knows? Mum (bless her) has no recollection of any of this (apart from a lot of nice young men turning up)!! Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.