Kendal Fell

In reverse

A stunning day to do this and without the pressure of having to time the walk with the train. My friend gave me a lift into Penrith for the train to Oxenholme and then from there I headed into Kendal and treated myself to a very cosmopolitan coffee sat out in the sun by the river at the wonderful vegetarian Waterside cafe before heading up through a sea of wild garlic and drowning in birdsong in Serpentine woods. As I headed up onto the fell I met 2 elderly gentlemen of Kendal. The first was a widower waiting for his daughter to finish having her haircut. He told me that he liked to come out up here 'for an adventure' and we admired the first orchids of the year. The second stopped for a chat as I was taking this shot. He was a retiree who had a full pack on his back and told me he was in training for his trip to do Offa's Dyke next week. Last year he did the Pennine Way. He joked that in all the years he's lived here he had never been on Kendal Fell. We were both delighted to see the carpet of cowslips emerging (where they weren't being close cropped by the golf course). 
The bench looking out across the Lakeland fells is dedicated to Dr Gill Hanson who was an early pioneer of Intensive Care Medicine.

The van and I were reunited and headed home together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.