Prom Night

It has all the trappings of a wedding. The venue for pictures, the dinner, the flowers, the chartered bus to the prom in San Francisco, and the clothes. As with my own children, my heart seizes up when I see my grandson in a tuxedo for the first time. I put the well posed picture showing their faces in the extras, but the picture of them confidently striding away from the hovering parents with their cameras, and into their own lives leaves me feeling sad for the mess we have left them, yet hopeful that the future is in their hands and they know what they are doing....

Go out into your future and take it on
with all you know and believe and trust,
with all we have given you, all you have taken 
and all you have done on your own.
You will make the world a better place
than you found it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.