Jado

By Jado

The wrong reservoir !!!

Last year there was a photography exhibition on at Stockport Art Gallery and I was really impressed with a mono shot of a reservoir water overflow.  It was a superb photo - very slow shutter speed.

I've been meaning to find this location and see what I can do for some time.  So today I checked my notes to make sure I was going to the right place, got out my hiking boots and set off.  This was just a reconnaissance mission - I had no idea what the location was like or even if the photograph had been taken from a publicly accessible location - and I wasn't going to carry a tripod, multiple lenses, ND filters, etc for several miles when I didn't know what to expect.

And what did I find?  Nothing!  Wrong reservoir!

My notes for this location were scribbled on the leaflet about the exhibition and I'd written them next to photo #11 where there was a lot of white space, with an arrow up to photo #7.  I missed the arrow this morning and so went to the wrong place!

However, not all was lost.  It was a beautiful day and I had a very pleasant 6 mile walk.

The blip is Errwood reservoir, which is one of the reservoirs which supplies drinking water to Stockport and the surrounding area - which presumably includes me.  I think it just as well to check that dog owners are being responsible when it is your drinking water that the dogs want to swim in ;-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.