Alarm calls!!

Mr Blackbird was busy this morning feeding 3 babies, who were hiding in the bushes and constantly scurrying about.

I decided to leave them to their activities, having bothered them for 4-5 hrs yesterday. I was up in my workroom with the window open when I heard frantic alarm calls. 

Mr Blackbird was on the fence in a state of panic. About 6ft away was this Sparrowhawk, a female I think, casting glances for potential food!!

I called for B to see and grabbed my camera to take pictures through the window. I also got a shot of her rear view. 

We were concerned about the safety of the birds so headed downstairs and found the garden deserted when we got there. 

I carried on with my sewing and have made great strides with a "Dresden Plate". It's not attached to the background material yet, but looking good (in extras). There seem to be a selection of ways of doing this, but as usual, I did it my way!!!

PS my S-in-L has advised me that this is a male sparrowhawk. He is smaller than the female and a difference n colouring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.