Le temps est venu

This morning I went for a walk round town looking at the posters for the French presidential election candidates. This afternoon I accompanied my hosts going to vote. This evening, thanks to T volunteering to participate in the count, I went to watch that part of the process too. Interesting to see. Now I must do the same in the UK!

Can you tell what each candidate’s politics are from their slogans (improved translations welcome)?

Arthaud: Listen to the Workers
Asselineau: A historic choice
Cheminade: Free ourselves from financial occupation
Dupont-Aignan: Stand up France
Fillon: A passion for France
Hamon: Make France’s heart beat
Lassalle: The time has come
Le Pen: Reorganise France
Macron: France must be an opportunity for everyone
Mélenchon: The power of the people
Poutou: Our lives, not their profits

Fillon, the cleaner-than-clean candidate who was discovered to have used state money to pay his wife and children exorbitant sums to work for him in non-existent jobs, has had his poster here altered to read: A theft for France.


Extra  – I had never heard of Judas trees until Tivoli started photographing them. When my hosts in Grenoble mentioned ‘arbres de Judée’ I went to look more closely and now I’m seeing them everywhere. This one, with wisteria climbing through it is for Tivoli.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.