I wonder...

Mo took the boys to rugby training this morning, and in the peace and quiet that descended, I found myself listening to The Archers as I stirred a huge pot of stovies. I'm not a devotee, or even a regular listener, but I quite like it burbling away while I'm doing something else.

One time, I listened to a talk by a scriptwriter on the programme, who'd described how he'd originally got hooked. Apparently, he'd been used to having it on in the background on Sundays, usually while hungover, half-listening to it. However, one Sunday he missed it, and found himself obsessed with one of the sub-plots, thinking,"I wonder what happened to that pig?" all day.

He reckoned this was the appeal of all soap operas, that they get under your skin gradually but then stay with you - until the characters (or livestock) take on a kind of reality.

He could have been talking about blip, when you think about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.