Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Docked

The Green Dock Beetle is irridescent in the sunshine, but at around 5mm in length is often overlooked. Two together stand out a bit more.

On an adjacent leaf another pair were a bit further along, the female's body swollen with eggs (extra). Which is possibly more than you wanted to see or know about the sex life of Green Dock beetles.

Had my dentist not been off sick I wouldn't have seen them, but having turned up to find my appointment cancelled I decided to walk home along the river. Passing a Comma, a Small Tortoiseshell and a Kingfisher along the way I alighted on the beetles in the meadow near the green bridge.

All of which slightly softened the impact of my first day back at work after the Easter break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.