Helen

A bit early off the blocks for me to publish, but I have a gazillion things happening all at the same time.

Today I went back to one of the NGOs I work with (it provides services to the elderly in Washington D.C.). This time, I was there not as the official photographer, but as a coach to a communications person who wanted to improve the way he takes pictures for his job. It's a useful exercise to have to articulate what you look for as well as the mistakes to avoid (I had plenty of examples of the latter....). Main lesson learned for me: it's actually the interactions you have with your 'subjects' that help make the picture and give the image some life. I was surprised at how little of that was going on with my 'coachee'. That's the part of the job I like most :)

Of course, I couldn't help sneak in my own quick pix. This is Helen, who was giving me a sardonic smile, after wondering "why in the world would you want a picture of old bitty me???" I think she's cute and has a nice sparkle in her eyes :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.