Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Nether Hill

My partner was at work today, so I was left to deal with the washing Sainsbury's grocery delivery and the trades person my partner had arranged to come and have a look at our front garden. I also have to do some pretty serious bike maintenance before lunch.

The first lot of washing is out just after I finish breakfast. Then I manage to pay the papers and buy some more bird seed for the feeders. At the trades person won't be around until 11, I decide to start bike maintenance. I manage to remove the winter wheels off the frame, re-grease the hubs of the summer wheels, get the old chain off, pump up the tyres, remove the jockey wheels and wash the frame. The trades person turns up early, just after 10. We have a discussion, and agree my partner will email him regarding colour of slabs she requires.

I put the kettle on for coffee, Sainsbury's arrives, so I deal with that. Then I sit down for a wee while, comtemplating what I can do to my bike in the remaining time. Coffee finished, second lot of washing is hung out.

As my partner is working until 3, I put the new cassette on the summer wheels, install new jockey wheel, remove extra links from the new chain. Reassemble the bike, put chain on, removing a couple of extra links, then insert the link pin. The brakes are readjusted, as it the rear derailleur.

I have a quick lunch, then put all the tools away before making some minor adjustments. The bike is ridable for tomorrow.

Just before 3, I head on down to Cameron Toll. Not having got my blip, I decide to get a photo of Nether Hil, one of the lower hills in Holyrood Park. what you can't see are Samson's Ribs, columns of basalt rock. You can see people walking up the hill and the yellow of gorse flowers. I do wander around Inch Park as well, but nothing here really catches my eye.

Eventually my partner finishes work, and we have coffee in Cameron Toll, and a wee bit of shopping before heading home. In the evening I watch Department Q on BBC4, before we both watch an episode of Game of Thrones (we're now up to Season 4!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.