Chamois In the Snow

The last dry morning for a few days so I climbed above Solalex to see if any chamois were on the newly exposed grass after the snow melt. I was not disappointed. A small herd of females and young (see extra) were quietly "having breakfast" and a convenient big rock allowed me to stay hidden. They are normally so quick to detect any movement, I was very lucky they did not see me. As I was walking away, this old male was walking up towards the females but I think the rut is over! Now it is raining at our altitude which means it will be snowing on this herd of chamois again. We need the precipitation, there are forest fire warnings in the whole of Switzerland.

Thanks for Mr. Foxy's presents, no butterflies for him in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.