Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Reminder

that it is fire season and we are currently in red flag restrictions due to high winds.

      My day started at 04:00hrs as I had to be in Phoenix for a 10:00 appointment. I did a very un-English thing to do when encountering another Englishman abroad (I spied his passport) and asked him where he was from, "England." Blunt me said, "I know that. I saw your passport. What part?" "Colchester," he said. "Well bugger me, I grew up in Kelvedon," says I. "Well, Sudbury near Colchester actually," he said. "I used to cycle to Sudbury . . ." and that's where our conversation ended as his number was called. So I remembered the bit about Goggeshall, Earls Colne, Halstead, Bulmer Tye and coming home via Bures and Chappel to myself.

       On the way to Phoenix I noted places I might stop to scout for snaps on the way home. Saguaro and ocotillo in bloom. You know how I am loath  to stop when on the road. I finally stopped at a couple of places to show what the forest looks like sixteen years after the Rodeo-Chediski fires. Still much to recover.

       This evening the Sawmill fire south of Tucson near Green Valley is at 18,000 acres and 17% contained. Laurie has much more up to date information.

       Though not exceedingly hot Phoenix was shrouded in a dusty, misty haze due to the winds so I wasn't inclined to linger down there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.