West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Turtle Bay

The highlight of yesterday was definitely seeing the turtle lay her eggs. The day finished with me hurting my foot at the end of the 9-11pm patrol and limping over the hill back to camp to my first aid kit. It still hurt when I woke up this morning. 

We had the usual lazy morning in camp. S showed us their turtle database and entered the details for the turtle we saw. It was nest number 4 of this season and this turtle’s second nest on the island. She laid 113 eggs. As well as looking after turtle nests, the project also aims to survey all the other wildlife on the island. This morning we helped out by making transect lines that can be put into the water to mark out an area for identification of corals.

In the afternoon everyone went snorkelling to look for sharks and to test out one of the transect lines. I decided to not to go so not to risk bumping my foot on rocks and making it worse. I sat on the beach and read. And tried to evade the mosquitoes. This was my view. The tiny dots in the water are the snorkellers.


When they came back, we walked over to one of the resorts. I put shoes on instead of walking in flip-flops and was able to go. After the others went night snorkelling we had dinner at the resort cafe. I walked back to camp before my first patrol on Turtle Bay at 10pm and tried to get a bit of sleep before the 1am Turtle Bay check.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.