In soapy bubble

I had to visit the NOW exhibition in Edinburgh's Modern 1 gallery as one of the exhibiting artist was Pete Horobin, who had been in the same year as me at college. I remember little of him other than he always seemed to be cadging cigarettes. He has produced DATA, a "major piece of work" which "...saw him document and archive all of his daily actions from 01.01.1980 to 31.12.1989. The sheets presented are from the years 1980, form part of the collection of the Gallery. The remaining years of the DATA Project are held by the Artpool Research Centre in Budapest, Hungary.
Described by the artist as ‘a self-portrait of a person in an environment of constrained economic limitations’ the initial means of recording was the collection of remnants of his day (food packaging, cigarette butts etc.) which were placed into a small plastic bags stapled onto sheets of paper.

I don't think any of the cigarette butts were mine, he didn't start this until the 1st January1980.

The photograph is a shot of a video by an artist whose name escapes me completely and shows the progress of a bubble as it makes it way through a building, wafted by an unknown breeze. The video runs for around 20 minutes. I don't think it's the same bubble appearing all the time. I think they may have used a stunt bubble in some scenes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.