misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Greenhouse Set up

Another BIG sign of spring and summer... the greenhouse was brought out of the basement by my good neighbor, Dick. He came in the afternoon and announced he was doing it today! It was 75 ºF and obviously (we think) winter is over. Old timers remain cautious.
Still, the maple tree in the blip looks bare. It is blooming but no leaves yet. Nature remains a bit cautious as well.
Nearly all the lawns around me have been mowed already. Saturday was the first possible day. I thought my grass too wet and the wild violets are still blooming in the grass. I would like them to go to seed, if possible.
There was a confab of three John Deere riding mowers in the middle of the street while the guys chewed the fat Saturday morning.
I think sometime next week the grass will get its first cut by Dick on his nice Kubota mower.
I have not actually started seeds to grow in the little greenhouse. But I did find the bags of seed-starting soil and am soaking it. 
Progress.
Everything is leafing out so very quickly now. Probably I will put the snow shovel away...

Addition:
I found out that the temperature was a high of 85ºF  (29ºC) today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.