*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Determination

It was the final session of my 8-week course today and what better way to mark it than with a picture of Determination, one of the Saltaire Lions.

I can hardly believe it's been 2 months and that I actually completed it without missing any of the sessions - there were only a few of us that managed that. It's certainly taught me a lot, about myself and the people around me. It has made me realise that a lot of the crap that I tell myself is just that... crap! And that I don't need to listen to it and to challenge those beliefs. It isn't easy but it's given me the groundwork to build on. Not only that, I have a sense of achievement and last, but by no means least, I have made new friends - something that doesn't come easily (or naturally) to me.

It was quite emotional at the end, both for the people on the course and the lady running it. It's been a pretty intense journey for us all.

We always ended a session with a quotation, and today was very apt for everyone there I think:

"Strive for progress, not perfection."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.