Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Day of Flying

This is how I feel after nearly 24 hours spent in airports and airplanes. Vision is blurred and tired after an excess of intense white light reflected from the clouds. Everything went well, in spite of numerous delays, lost baggage, and no decent food on board. 
But now I'm in Marabá, about 500 km from my final destination. I already bought the busticket for the 8-10 hour ride tomorrow. I will arrive in São Félix do Xingú sometime at night.
Marabá is a city built at the margins of the Tocantins River. The taxi driver who drove me to my hotel told me that its old center is quite beautiful. I might take a stroll a bit later after taking a little nap.

(The extra shows my first impression of the Amazon forest during approach to Marabá. Those low flying, heavy clouds and the dramatic light never fail to impress me. Lots of memories coming back now.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.