Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Lime Tree

Had a nice lazy start to the day and was preparing a birthday greeting for Pauline who turned 60 today when I checked my email, and the day took a real turn for the worse.

The insurance underwriters wrote back with a list of demands so impossible, I really wondered if we'd ever get our residence visas! I was fuming. Made a few calls, having managed to calm down enough for people to realise how upset I was and to offer more information on an easier way to get this mandatory insurance. Before 4pm, both G & I had secured and paid for medical insurance. Phew. This is after working on this for over three weeks.

So, as this is the biggest hurdle we have overcome, we went to celebrate. Costa was to be the destination, but we somehow ended up at the Lime Tree Cafe... a bit of an institution for Jumeirah Janes Dubai expats; it was actually my first visit ever! Their carrot cake is well known around town, so we tried it. It tasted as delicious as it looks here, and yes, it arrived like that on its side. I loved the gooseberry being used to indicate a carrot buried in the dirt.

Got home to chill and crack on at the logo which is surely coming to finalising soon. Unlimited amount of changes means you run out of time before they get fed-up and tell you to get lost. Not that they can with the package I bought! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.