Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Doezend Stamtoavels

It's King's Day in The Netherlands. A day off. I went to see my mother and showed her the shots of the recent trip to Glencoe. She surprised me by immediately buying one of the photos for on their wall. They already have one of my photos hanging there but she wanted something new. Thanks mom!

After dinner I realized I had promised Ton and Herman to dig up my 'Doezend Stamtoavels' CD. This probably needs some explaining... 'De Stamtoavel' was a program on local radio where jokes would be told in Groningen dialect. It took place in a pub-like setting and it was very popular. After 1000 (or 'doezend' in the Groningen dialect) episodes the show ended. The CD contains a selection of the broadcasts and the jokes still crack me up, especially because of the way they are told.

We talked about the radio program over dinner in the Clachaigh Inn and I promised Herman and Ton to dig up the CD from my collection. So guys: I found the CD; be prepared!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.