Away Day 2

Today I took the train to Derry and back. I’d never been before, and it’s one of those places which was in the news all the time for 35 years.

It’s just over 2 hours from Belfast. I’m glad I made the effort. Apart from being such a historic place, it showed me how divided the 2 communities still are even after 18 years of peace. Peace is a good start, of course.

In a couple of hours I walked the medieval city walls and visited the Guildhall, the Bloody Sunday monument and the Free Derry Corner.

Back in Belfast for the 19:05 flight, with a brief stop there in the Crown Bar for a Guinness - well it’s across the street from the bus station where you catch the airport bus. The pint got Blipped. It was superb.

The extras are one of the murals at the entrance to the Bogside, a historic protest at Free Derry Corner about internment (one strategy used in the 1970s was to lock up suspected terrorists and sympathisers without trial) and the city walls. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.