bellringer51

By bellringer

The Bright Field

The Bright Field

I have seen the sun break through to illuminate a small field for a while,
and gone away and forgotten it.
But that was the pearl of great price, the one field that had the treasure in it.
I realize now that I must give all that I have to posess it.
Life is not hurrying on to a receding future, nor hankering after an imagined past.
It is turning aside like Moses to the miracle of the lit bush.
To a brightness that seemed as transitory as your youth once, but is the eternity that awaits you.

R.S. Thomas.

These amazing words were given to us as the theme of a Quiet Day in our church. I chose take a reflective walk which took me in and out of the church and into the surrounding landscape. Most of the day was spent in silence, it was so peaceful and restorative.

As I sat on a bench in the churchyard I noticed this little cherub sitting at the base of a gravestone, I had never noticed him before in all my hurrying around. I just love the expression on his face, he is asleep but he still looks cheeky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.