David J. Rose

By djrose007

That's the way to do it!

After Marlane and I spent nearly an hour using a jigsaw to cut a strip off the first door, agonising over drilling the large holes necessary for the latch bit, the handle spindle, rebate the hinges etc. We did it but the edge I cut off is not dead straight all the way and we had to jiggle and amend the holes.

Sister in Law visited yesterday and said "Why didn't you ask Andy, he's not working now". I hadn't asked him as he is also retired and it wouldn't be fair but he called after a while and said he'd come around and help me. He didn't help me, I assisted him, and he sorted out the door we'd done and totally did the other door, all in about 1.5 hours! All that cutting with the jigsaw, which isn't the right tool of course but I've nothing else, was replaced with a few minutes with this electric plane, fantastic job and carried out in a totally different manner to what we did.
I must mention that Andy has been a professional carpenter since leaving school around 50 years ago!
It's good to get on with your relatives :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.