RJG

By RJG

Dinas Head

A new grouping has been advertised on Facebook this week for anyone interested in Geology. That is a topic I have long had a desire to study but never managed to find the time . Having farmed on old red sandstone soils in Herefordshire when I moved to Pembrokeshire I found the south of the county very familiar and of course it is old red sandstone soil. However the north of the county is predominantly shale and looks and farms completely differently.The new group has come to late for me as I rarely venture far from the car these days but as a county with extraordinary geology on display for all to enjoy this part of the world takes some beating .Many of our hotels are used by universities during the winter months to house geology student as the variety of topologies on offer is so varied and with such a long coast line easily accessed as well .Tonights picture is the
view I enjoy on all but the foggiest days but rarely is it so brilliantly lit as it was this afternoon. Even though it's some distance from home I can still see the details of the rocks that make up this headland and the twists and folds are in my mind quite dramatic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.