Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

A day at the movies

I did six films today. I don't mean I watched 'em. I mean I lived 'em. 

It all started with us doing a mammoth job on the garden and the garage - the long running saga of dejunking and trying to reverse years of neglect and hoarding. I had an idea for a movie shot with Top Gun and after that the whole thing just got out of hand.

So if you want to try and guess the six movies, click here to see all the pictures  ... before reading on.


Okay ...

So the first one of Top Gun wielding an axe is Jack Nicholson in The Shining. You know "heres....Johnny!" Not that Top Gun does evil very well but there is a touch of the Nicholson mad grin about this one.

For number two - one of things we were chucking out was an old curtain rod, but as I picked up I decided it looked like Gandalf's staff in "The Lord of the Rings - The Fellowship of the Ring". You know, flash of light, Balrog grabs him by the ankles, everyone thinks he is dead because he has fallen into a bottomless abyss with a a many tentacled fiery monster .... not that he was (unlike me) in his pyjamas. 

Which reminds me of a variation on my favourite Groucho Marx joke. "This morning I did the garden in my pyjamas. Why there was a garden in my pyjamas I have no idea".

The third one was kind of weird when I found a squashed root that looked just like a Mandrake from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. You know the things that have a fatal scream. Really scary.

Then our neighbour opposite Mr R came over to look at an old garage door during the day as he needed to line the bottom of his trailer with something. Don't ask me where his old bottom went. We'd been wanting to lose this for ages, it is huge and weighs a ton. Top Gun and I somehow manhandled it out and halfway across the lawn as he was sliding it along I had another idea ... you guessed it ... Sliding Doors with the Glorious Gwyneth. Love that film.

As we were going to the dump, TSM was walking Dylan and he was sitting on the car roof. Easy one this ... Cat On A Hot Tin Roof. Except it wasn't hot. And the modern C3 has a sort of over the top glass bit that he was sitting on. But who wants to see a film called Cat on a Reasonably Warm Glass Roof? 

The last one was a bit of a coup. I had actually planned to stage it when I saw the weather forecast but when we were at the dump there was this guy pondering over whether to keep or chuck an old brolley. I asked him to pose Singing in the Rain for me and he did. In fact he actually sang it, quite well in fact.

So that was my day at the movies. The garden is now looking fab and of course it is raining proper now so we can't sit out and enjoy it ... but who cares.

Aged P, had she not died last year, would have found it amusing. Today would have been her 95th Birthday. Fond memories ... Ah well ....

That's all folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.