Reikes small life...

By Reike

The day Ueli Steck died

When in the morning I saw a friend post on Facebook "R.I.P. Ueli Steck", my mind shouted No, No, NO!!! This can't be true! A quick look into the official news confirmed the sad news and I cried much more than I should cry over a person that I was not friends with. 

He was such an exceptional person, a bold and true mountaineer, loving nature with all his heart, trying to always give his best and live his dreams to the fullest, and at the same being such a nice, likeable and approchable guy, with these slightly crooked teeth, those blue eyes lighted up from inside and that radiant smile (His english did sound terrible though!).
I was so lucky not only to hear him talk about his work/life/dreams three times but at one occasion I could also walk up to him and talk to him in person. 

I could never relate to my grandma's reaction when Lady Di died but know I understand how she felt. An idol died. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.