Stalking

Mantis Diary 15

After yesterday’s storm I went out to the Viburnum bush to check on the female mantis I found a couple of days ago.  She was there, and so also was a male! I watched them for some time. She was in hunting mode, ready to grab anything that came in reach. He, on the other hand, only had eyes for her. See in the photo- he is closer to the camera  and about 30cm from her. I kept going out to see how they were doing, but he got no closer than this before the sun left the bush and they both disappeared. I am very hopeful, however.

Earlier he had been approaching her stealthily, hiding behind leaves, before carefully moving forward. I caught a shot of him peering over a leaf, then went around to the female’s side and took another shot of him. See extra shot.

Snow is low on the mountains. I was so cold last night I had trouble sleeping, even though I had two spare blankets on with my light-weight down duvet. Today I changed to my winter down duvet. That should do the trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.