DIY

I have not posted anything for a few days due to far too much going on at once.
 
It all started last Thursday when the people in the flat below me came round to talk about the flaking paint and stain on their kitchen ceiling which had been noted by the letting agent who had just undertaken an annual inspection.  They rent that flat and the damage to the ceiling was there when they moved in about 9 months ago – but no one told me that I probably had leaking water pipes until last Thursday!
 
After removing the washing machine and removing the panel from the side of the bath I did eventually find two leaks – both just very slow drips neither of which would not have filled half an egg cup in 24 hours.  But it still messed up my day.
 
And then on Friday I was at work.  That was quite a shock to the system.  I have not got up and gone to work for very nearly 9 months.  And then Friday evening, when I got home, was spent trying to figure out the best way to sort out the leaking pipes.
 
I was out with a friend on Saturday and I did take some photos, so I have posted a photo for last Saturday.  And I was out again on Sunday morning with another friend, but by the time I got home via B&Q (see below), and then having to complete some work which I’d promised to deliver for first thing next Tuesday, it was too late to think about photos.
 
And so to today; Bank Holiday Monday.  My father always did everything himself and as a result I have done some plumbing in the past, and so I thought why not fix the leaks myself.  If it all went horribly wrong I’d not be much worse off than I already was, i.e. I'd have to get in a plumber.  It took a long time but the water is back on now and no leaks :-)

I will watch it very carefully for the next few days just to be sure, but it looks like it is sorted - and it didn't cost much at all.
 
I’ll be working a few days next week and there is still some tidying up to do in the bathroom and kitchen but things feel much more like normal again.  Plus I am quite proud of my DIY efforts today - even if I do have very sore knees from kneeling on the floor for most of the morning!

The photo is a bit worrying though - you don't see all that dirt unless you are on your knees and peering behind the loo.  I'll have to schedule some cleaning ;-(

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.