misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Spring gardening: Plans-- Resist!!

Bleeding Hearts (Dicentra) may be one of my new plants of choice. I have to remove the iris who are getting eaten to death by  the SLUGS.
I spent time with the RHS garden advisory website yesterday and looked at the list of slug resistant plants.
These lovely old Bleeding Hearts are on the list. So even though this is not the right season to transplant the iris, if I do not dig them up, clean the slug eggs out of the soil and transplant them in containers with clean potting soil I will lose all of the iris beauties.
I ought to fill in the spaces with Bleeding Hearts and other shade/half sun lovers on the list. Although natural and chemical remedies are listed the RHS says none really work. 
I also grow Deer Resistant plants after losing many when I first moved here 9 years ago.
But first I have to take enough meds. to drive the arthritis away so I can do the work.
Too much cold and damp weather right now...
For gardeners there is always hope and the power of Resistance (as we do for D. Trump as well).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.