May! Already? Pinch me...

...I must be dreaming. Whoops, no. White Rabbits, White Rabbits!


And after that surreal beginning, things become far more mundane. Still with the laundry today...

I jumped into bed last night, ready to watch some televisual entertainments, folded my hands in my lap on top of the duvet and said: "why is the duvet wet?" Closely followed by: "Why is my bottom wet?"

Nell had peed on the bed, right where I was sat. We had to strip the whole lot off. It was a big puddle and had gone through the duvet cover, the duvet, the reverse side of the cover, the bottom sheet, the topper cover and into the topper. Thankfully the wetness did not reach the actual mattress.

Of course I had rid us of all the old duvets shortly before we went away in the Autumn. On top of which we have something of a bedding crisis... I have many old and battered duvet covers but only one or two serviceable sheets... We ended up sleeping under a double sleeping bag, opened out flat.

The memory foam mattress topper has been sitting on top of the bar billiard table all day, airing out. I am fascinated by its "zones" of different patterns, supposedly yielding different levels of support. Could not resist pointing the camera at it.

My washing machine is too small to take the duvet so I suppose we must live with the sleeping bag until such time as I can lug the duvet into town to the cleaners.

It's an aberration on Nell's part. I hope it does not happen again, not least because of the low stocks of bedding in these here parts but more because she is turned ten now and it might indicate a health issue. Overall l I think it is just a sulk or attention plea. She is missing those forests and her daily long walks. We have been busy since we came home and her fun has been curtailed.That does not suit her one little bit. She has been something of a madam what with the whining and all.

I apologised profusely to her today and then we took her for a walk along the road to see if we could find some free-range eggs for tomorrow's breakfast. She and I both returned satisfied. Mr L was less so - he was nithered by the icy blast that was drying my laundry so efficiently.

I took photos of wind-blown waves and courting ducks but it is the foam patterns that pleases me most today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.