Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

The Last Day

Whilst Annie continued her revision weekend, I (Chris) set out for London to catch the wheelchair marathon, part of the final day of action at the Paralympics.

I headed for Embankment hopeful of gaining a good viewpoint. I couldn't quite believe how many people were there as I emerged from the Underground so I set off away from Westminster in the hope the crowd would be a little thinner further on! I found a gap eventually and having chatted to the photographer I found myself stood next to, very quickly the crowd volume increased suggesting the athletes were imminent. I knew where we stood we'd see three laps which was fortunate as a combination of the speed and the dappled sunlight made getting a half decent photo tricky. This was especially true as both medal hopes for Team GB (Dave Weir and Shelly Woods) were buried in groups of competing athletes on each pass. Continuing everything I've seen at the games the crowd enthusiastically cheered every competitor from first to last, great stuff.

Having seen the three laps we waited for news of the finish and you could hear the good news ripple down the embankment crowd as we learnt of success for Team GB.

Hard to believe it is all over now but memories won't quickly be erased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.