Yellow………..

…………..Admiral

Hanging from the remains of its chrysalis case and basking in the warm afternoon sunlight this beautiful Yellow Admiral Butterfly  is newly emerged and getting ready to face the world.

Recently, while cutting back the stinging nettles I made two discoveries. The first was finding two South African praying mantis amongst the leaves and secondly, I realised there were black caterpillars of various stages under the leaves. They were rescued and put into a butterfly castle for safety - which is allowing them to develop and mature to ultimately be released back into the wild. 

This photo has been tagged and added to several previous blips of admiral butterflies, caterpillars and chrysalis, including the Red Admiral butterfly which is a native to NZ


Thank you for the comments, stars and hearts for my two previous blips. I’m sorry my comments have been a little scarce recently, but I do try to visit and sprinkle stars and hearts as often as possible. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.