JackyMT

By JackyMT

Little old me

With my cousin Rodney. Sat on Grandma's back step

I found this whilst looking for a different pic so took a blip of it. My cousin is twelve years older than me and I thought the world of him when I was growing up, i was bridesmaid at his wedding when I was seven. I used to sit and listen to him play the piano at my gran's and sing with him, he had a beautiful baritone voice, shades of the Welsh ancestry, his brother Terry was a singer in the clubs but he got killed in a car crash, no fault of his.

Rodney was in Grenadier Guards he rose to be Drum Sergeant Major, he learned to play all the instruments, there is still a postcard sold in London with him on marching at the head of the Grenadier band with the big drum strapped to him , the photo on it was taken in the 1950' s. He later became a fireman and conductor of the firemen's band in Aberdeen then in Morton in Marsh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.