Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Swan chase

I went to Blackford Pond this afternoon for the first time in about five weeks and was overjoyed to find four swans there, one adult pair, a lone adult female and a huge cygnet - probably one of last year's. The adult pair were chasing the lone adult and the cygnet who got out of the way, but didn't seem too perturbed. No signs of nesting, I guess that won't happen this year. I expect it's going to be a time of change, but I do hope the adult pair stays. A beautiful day, with an almost cloudless sky although still cool from the north east wind.

I've now checked the information we've got about the rings on the swans and I've discovered that it's the lone female who is "our" female, and this is a new adult pair on the pond. I do feel sad for her - it should be her with a new mate! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.