Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Busy busy

Today dawned bright and clear which was GOOD but a gale force wind was less than helpful. I decided to wait until11 before bee hiving operations continued. By then it was a little warmer and fortunately ( or by clever design?) the apiary is sheltered from these awful north easterlies.
My plan was to check the original hive for developing queen cells and make sure there was only one, otherwise the remaining bees swarm again and diminish the hive strength.
I was surprised and delighted to find the frames stuffed with capped brood cells, all ready to hatch. No wonder the swarm left, they must have been right out of space.
There were several queen cells nearly ready to hatch so I decided to split the hive into two new ones and hope that they both get successful queens.
That done, the parcel I was waiting in for arrived leaving me free to zoom off to do my butterfly count, call in on T in Crossthwaite, pop to the supermarket and get home to water the wind blasted container plants and help Rob with his reserve sign.
Good day off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.