Nostalgia

Rummaging around in the loft today, we came across these two handmade baby shawls. One was made by my lovely mum-in-law when our first baby was born.

The other I believe, was mine when I was a baby.

Found a record of our day to day finances. It records my monthly pay in the first month of our marriage in 1989 as £633.38. I was a registered nurse - I wonder how much the equivalent would be now. We also paid £32.65 in Poll Tax - a not so welcome blast from the past.

...and after nearly 28 years of marriage, I finally, finally said goodbye to my once lovely but now horribly faded, dated and sadly yellowed wedding dress. I very nearly threw it away 3 years ago when we moved house but I buckled at the last minute. Today, I handed it to my hubby and asked him to throw it into a clothes bin at the local recycling centre.

Felt a bit sad, but what's the point of keeping it - it was too bad even for a charity shop but I'm glad the deed is now done.

Hey ho, it served me well on the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.