Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What is blue with a black throat?

That was my question today when I saw this tiny little bird come darting in for a few brief moments. I knew it had to be some kind of warbler only because it is the time of year when warblers are migrating through NJ and I knew it wasn't a bird I'd ever seen before. So, after a bit of searching and flipping through my bird field guides, I came up with a positive id - it's a black-throated blue warbler! Not the most original of names, but I guess it does the job. Anyway, a new life-bird for me, and a beautiful one, at that.

Busy day. Lovely long chat with my parents this morning, followed by a few hours of work in the yard/garden (fun since the day was perfect in terms of temps), then hubs and I went for a nice drive and ended up taking a great walk along part of the Appalachian Trail. We saw a young red-tailed hawk and another raptor that I haven't yet been able to ID. Also saw some chipmunks along the trail, all very busy gathering nuts and seeds. If they only know how easy their cousin Mimsy has it!

Speaking of Mimsy, she sends her greetings to all of you and thanks you from the bottom of her furry little heart for the lovely comments, the stars and the heart. She says she loves you all! (And please feel free to send peanuts...)

We are off to have some sushi for dinner, so back later to check in on your journals. Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.