Monastery of 10000 Buddhas

The trouble with going away is that you have to update Blipfoto with numerous posts after you return. At least, that's my case. I don't normally travel with Adobe CC and my laptop refused to update.

We began our Hong Kong photo trip with a visit to the Monastery of 10000 Buddhas in the district of Sha Tin. It was created only in the mid-20th century by a Buddhist monk called Yuet Kai whose preserved body is visible in a shrine at the base of the hill, making it easier for people to come and pay their respects.

Otherwise, you have to climb over 430 steps to reach the monastery which he helped build by carrying all the materials up the hill. Wikipedia tells me that the authorities have closed the monastery on occasions because of fears of landslides. It closes during periods of heavy rain.

I felt that the ascent was made easier by all the more than lifesize gold leaf covered statues of Buddhas that line the route. Each statue is unique. Stop among them and you begin to feel a presence.

The steps are broad and the ascent is not too arduous providing you don't keep looking up or down. Michael was astonished that I made it to the main building using my stick and with my leg encased in a strong support. I felt for his wife Yvonne, who carried their two year old, Kobi, in a sling all the way up and down.

The views might have been amazing but for the fog and rain that swept over while we were sitting in the vegetarian restaurant, where I had my most memorable Chinese meal of the holiday, a vegetable broth laced liberally with cooked egg, tofu and sweetcorn. It was delicious.

Three of us had our fortune told in the temple. I'm sure it was using the iChing. Previous experience of the iChing has encouraged me to take it seriously. A path is laid out but how you negotiate it is up to you.

The temple walls are lined with niches that each contain a miniature Buddha with a light. Many bear text dedications.

It was a lovely, restful place and I would go again, despite the climb.

The pagoda in the photo features on the HK$100 note. I paused on the way up to take this view which I think shows it better in its setting.

You can see many more photos of the monastery in this Flickr album.

In the evening, we walked to Temple Street Night Market, which was more wearing. Much colour and light, and busy although you never felt jostled. The others paused for cold beer and food at one of the many cafes on the street. This was when I realised that eating out in Hong Kong was definitely not going to be easy for me because of my need to eat gluten free. Gluten free is unknown in China. I eventually managed to get a plate of prawns fried in oil and plenty of garlic with a bowl of boiled rice. See extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.