A wonderful time of year

Madeira is getting ready for the Flower Festival. The ceremonies and the parades begin this weekend, but already Funchal is in a stunningly beautiful fiesta mood.

In the square near the Jesuit Church, this amazingly beautiful young Madeiran girl was greeting passers by and reminding them what a special time of year it is. She posed for lots of photos, of course.

I've had this exchanged week arranged for fourteen months. Madeira is "sold out" and it isn't surprising.

I didn't want to miss this special week and my surgeon agreed that I should enjoy it before he sets to work on my new right hip in two weeks time. I may be hobbling but I'm not missing out :-)

Ironically, the ship I should have been cruising on next month was in port, so I could say hi to the Aegean Odyssey....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.