Journey Through Time

By Sue

Dainty Bess

A perfect mostly overcast day in which to photograph roses. So a stop at the rose garden was in order after my trip to the library to get my book. I have just finished processing and fussing (I actually messed with that histogram thingie. Woo hoo.) with the images that I liked, and I sure hope you stop by my Flickr page to see my Rose set.. The new ones are the last 11 roses. I should write down the names of the roses. The pretty light pink and lavender rose is Silver Lining, I believe. The one large yellow and pink trimmed rose is Peace. And lovely Dainty Bess, which I think is a gorgeous single petal rose. I had no idea it was this old of a rose variety, however. The things you learn. A few errands on a quiet Sunday. Tomorrow is auntie day and taking her on her errands. The weather is much cooler with the chance of a shower. Actually that would be nice. The dust needs settling. Oh and eye/ear issue has resolved itself. I knew you'd be breathlessly awaiting THAT news! LOL Hope everything is coming up roses in your part of the world. Have a great day! See ya later.

An unusual old shrub rose that has been referred to as "One of the loveliest roses ever bred".

Not to everyone's liking as it is a single rose and little different. It has large flowers of silvery pink with pronounced wine coloured stamens. The blooms are often 3ins across and are produced in loose clusters or sometimes singly. The petals are quite distinct as they have wavy ragged edges which give it a somewhat untidy appearance, although very lovely. A stunning sight in full bloom and the blooms repeat well all summer.

A vigorous healthy rose with strong deep green leathery foliage and excellent disease resistance. Deliciously fragrant and makes a great cut flower. It is quite a hungry rose so feed at least twice a year to get the best results. It can cope with poor soil but is always best in full sun. Today it is known as a Shrub rose but it was an accepted practice in 1925 to call all large 5 petalled roses Hybrid Teas, so many lists still refer to it as an HT.

Bred in the UK by William Archer & Daughter who named the rose after his wife.

Sometimes know as 'The Artistic Rose'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.