Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Paws for a Cause

One of my favourite aspects of the 60K Weekend to End Women's Cancers walk in Toronto is the incredible neighbourhood support. Walkers were treated to seranading, mimosas, espresso, homemade Italian pastries, and many, many high fives and hugs from people young and old. As you can see, even some of the four-legged fans get into the spirit.

As of about 2:55 pm EDT, I have completed a total of 480 kilometres and through the generosity of friends and colleagues, raised about $20,000.00 over my 8 walks. Already signed up for next year!

Edited to add:

I don't know who she is, but the woman petting the dog is one of the hundreds of cancer survivors. They wear pink lanyards - the rest of us wear blue. I am grateful every year that I still get the blue one, and inspired more than I can express by the women with pink ones - and the spirit of those who are no longer with us, especially my own mum who passed 17 years ago

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.