Nutria and Western Pond Turtle

I enjoyed a ride on my bicycle this evening along the Fern Ridge Bike Path alongside the Amazon Creek.

The weather was delightful, with a low sun providing warm light for photos.

Lots of critters hanging out getting in some quality recreation time.

They know the summer afternoons like this one are coming to a close.

I spotted this nutria paddling quietly nearby to his creek bank tunnel.

Nutria are a very well established immigrant species here in the USA.
Nutria in Oregon:

I was so focused on the nutria that I did not see the turtle basking in the sun on the bank behind him until I looked at the photo at home.

Kathy and I have been trying to spot one of these western pond turtles since we arrived here in Eugene.

The western pond turtles are somewhat rare and endangered critters.
Western Pond Turtles in Oregon:

I am as thrilled to have the turtle's picture as I am chagrinned having failed to see him in the wild. Yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.