The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Ellie Elation

I am not one to typically blip flowers. I rather prefer to blip kids jumping from rafts or eagles soaring in the air or the gnarly light of the burning sun over the water just before sunset. But these flowers represented the emotion of my day for it was a day of softness and grace. Bonnie's mother arrived from California this afternoon for another visit with our family and I wanted to have a few freshly cut flowers in the house to welcome her arrival.

Now I know that it is typically stereotypical for a husband to avoid their in-laws. Also it is considered macho by many males to make jokes of their in-laws and give their spouses a hard time about their lineage. But, for me, it is quite the opposite.

I adore Bonnie's parents and cannot be with them enough and we open our doors to them every chance we get. Bonnie's mom and dad were just here a few weeks ago but, as often is the case, her mother came back to our home for a brief encore of togetherness and happiness and hugs and love and giggles. Much like these roses, Bonnie's parents are beautiful and vibrantly colorful and delicate and a joy to have in one's midst. Yet, beneath this outer and appealing beauty, stands a structure of incredible and enduring strength. Thankfully, my wife and children share similar qualities that I must attribute, in no small part, to Bonnie's heritage.

Ellie, thank you for all the visits and the wonderful love and enlightenment you bring into our home each and every time.

And to those blip-chums that viewed and commented and gave other forms of kindness to my wedding blip of yesterday, thank you from the bottom of my heart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.