Skye - Day 2

Such an amazing place, the contrasts between pretty, whitewashed cottages surrounded by daffodils and hens and the huge, dramatic and overpowering mountains.  Mike must have been sick of me saying "look at that!" every couple of minutes!  Luckily for me, he is more than happy to drive, and very good at stopping when there is a photo opportunity.  

Lots of folk about, lots cars in every car park and lots of notices - they do seem to like their notices here!  Under one which said no caravans or buses, someone had added "no caravanettes"  which was a new one for us.  

So saying, everyone we spoke to was incredibly friendly, especially when we parked up on the edge of Portree overnight.  It was on the end of a 3km circular walk and we met several lovely dogs and their owners.  After a fish supper Ollie and I set off on the walk and half way round I realised I had no phone signal.  I kept going and suddenly got a phone call from Mike wondering what had happened to me.  He reminded me that last time I had gone on my own for a walk on holiday I had ended up in a river, so cliffs and steep slopes were asking for trouble!  I finished the walk like a fell runner, Ollie thought it was great fun!

Terrific views and scenery, huge mountains and tiny wild anemones.  So much to see at every turn.  Another wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.