LyndyH

By LyndyH

Tattoos ... do you want the beastly truth ....

.... Gentle Wendy is a rescue greyhound from Ireland. She was seven when she was rescued from a life of cruelty (she's nine now). We are currently looking after her whilst her owners are away on holiday. 

Wendy has a tattoo in her ear. I was curious and began googling .... I discovered that through the tattoo I can discover Wendy's racing name and find out about her racing history. I decided not to go any further when I read this:

 'The tattoos identify the dog and also potentially identify the owner and trainer. When dogs are dumped or killed, in order to conceal the identity of the dog, greyhounds have sometimes been mutilated to make the tattoos unreadable; methods include (but are not limited to) cutting off the ears, burning with cigarettes, etc. and acid.'


What a disgusting industry greyhound racing is. All Wendy needs now is love and kindness and I have oodles of both ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.