Hill running!

The reason we went to the Dales at this particular time was so Mr Rat could "run" the Yorkshire Three Peaks - more than 23 miles and over 5,000ft ascent.
Following the tooth extraction and antibiotics he wasn't quite back to 100% but wasn't going to give up before even starting so we left the car at registration in Horton-in-Ribblesdale and I caught the train to Ribblehead (and got a free ride as the conductor didn't come round).
I then headed off up Whernside to meet him on the top - extras are views on the way. There were 100's of people on the path, mostly walking the 3 Peaks so I took an alternative, rough route for part of the ascent and was rewarded with a couple of waterfalls, various birds and flowers and a vole. Unfortunately I missed the Tornado going over the viaduct an hour or so after I'd been there.
I got to the top as the mid-field runners were arriving up the almost vertical slope so had time for lunch before his arrival. I refilled his ware bottle, gave him some sweeties and he was away - though wondering if he'd make it as he had been really struggling on the way to Ribblehead but knowing I was on the top kept him going.
I then descended, hitched a lift back to the car (from 2 race marshals) as I was too early for the train and was back with good time to see him finishing with several behind him. He only managed it because they extended the time at the last check point - he was 15 secs outside the original cut-off.
A great achievement just to finish, 10% of the starters didn't. Scots were 1st and 2nd and a Scot was also 3rd woman.
The fish and chips later were very welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.