Sheepshead peninsula

We followed our plan for today.  My back is much improved, but still causing some aggro.

First a visit to Bantry, where the weekly market had a good selection of stalls, with veggies and cheese, and other items that we needed.

Then on to drive around the Sheep's Head Peninsula.  We stopped at the end of the road, and walked on towards the lighthouse.  But there was an EVIL wind - blowing from the North East.  This therefore was blowing behind us as we (largely) descended the headland, pushing me down the hills.  I found this quite very hard going, what with my knees and my recent back pain.  And then, when we turned round and retraced our steps, the wind was in our faces as we struggled up the steep bits.  And it seemed to blow harder just as we were tackling the worst ascents!  My balance is not brilliant these days, and there were times when, if I hadn't had my sticks today, I am sure the wind would have blown me over!  My blip is from the point (not that far from the end) where I gave up, decided "enough is enough" and we turned back.

The views are superb, but we were not able to enjoy them as much as we would have liked.

But we then had a great drive back along very minor roads.  Wonderful views, and sheltered from the wind by the car!  In better weather, we would have been able to get out and visit various other points of interest.  

And this evening we have enjoyed the produce we purchased - potatoes, veggies, home made hummus etc etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.